Badminton Prize Money

The prize money in pro badminton tournaments has increased significantly in recent years, with prize funds ranging from $210,000 for the BWF Super 300 tournaments to $2,000,000 for the BWF Finals.

Below is a breakdown of the payouts for the 2023 BWF Tour Season.

A trophy with a dollar sign on it next to the words Badminton Prize Money

2023 BWF Prize Money List by Tournament

DatesTournamentPrize Fund
Jan 10 – Jan 15Malaysia Open$1,250,000
Jan 17 – Jan 22Yonex Sunrise India Open$900,000
Jan 24 – Jan 29Indonesia Masters$420,000
Jan 31 – Feb 05Thailand Masters$210,000
Mar 07 – Mar 12German Open$210,000
Mar 14 – Mar 19All England Open$1,250,000
Mar 21 – Mar 26Swiss Open$210,000
Mar 28 – Apr 02Spain Masters$210,000
Apr 04 – Apr 09Orleans Masters$210,000
May 23 – May 28Malaysia Masters$420,000
May 30 – Jun 04Thailand$420,000
Jun 06 – Jun 11Singapore$850,000
Jun 13 – Jun 18Indonesia Open$1,250,000
Jun 20 – Jun 25Taipei$210,000
Jul 04 – Jul 09Canada$420,000
Jul 11 – Jul 16US Open Badminton$210,000
Jul 18 – Jul 23Korea$420,000
Jul 25 – Jul 30Japan$850,000
Aug 01 – Aug 06Australia$420,000
Sep 05 – Sep 10China$1,250,000
Sep 12 – Sep 17Hong Kong$420,000
Oct 10 – Oct 15Finnish Arctic Open$420,000
Oct 17 – Oct 22Denmark$850,000
Oct 24 – Oct 29French Open Badminton$850,000
Oct 31 – Nov 05Hylo$210,000
Nov 07 – Nov 12Korea Masters$210,000
Nov 14 – Nov 19Japan Masters$420,000
Nov 21 – Nov 26China Masters$850,000
Nov 28 – Dec 03India International$210,000
Dec 13 – Dec 17BWF World Tour Finals$2,000,000

2023 Badminton Prize Money Leaders

According to an article on the official BWF website, the top 30 earners on tour won $4,344,507 in the first seven months of the year, with An Se Young leading the money list with $428,480, followed by Viktor Axelsen with $270,195.

#Badminton Player2023 Earnings
1An Se Young$428,480
2Viktor Axelsen$270,195
3Akane Yamaguchi$259,190
4Chen Yu Fei$175,760
5Li Shi Feng$162,125
T6Huang Ya Qiong$154,828
T6Zheng Si Wei$154,828
8Baek Ha Na$145,021
9Kunlavut Vitidsarn$138,275
10Anthony Sinisuka Ginting$133,960
T11Jia Yi Fan$131,852
T11Chen Qing Chen$131,852
T13Kim So Yeong$130,473
T13Kong Hee Yong$130,473
T15Yuta Watanabe$128,412
T15Arisa Higashino$128,412
17Lee So Hee$124,727
T18Fajar Alfian$120,517
T18Muhammad Rian Ardianto$120,517
20Seo Seung Jae$112,850
21Huang Dong Ping$109,227
22Carolina Marin$106,570
T23Wang Chang$102,555
T23Liang Wei Keng$102,555
25Tai Tzu Ying$97,385
26Kodai Naraoka$95,600
27Anders Antonsen$93,250
28Feng Yan Zhe$92,321
29Jonatan Christie$87,965
T30Chirag Shetty$87,166
T30Satwiksairaj Rankireddy$87,166