BWF Taipei Open

The Taipei Open is a BWF Super 300 badminton tournament that has been held annually in Taiwan since the early 1980s.

I have put together the below guide so you can find out more about the Draw, Schedule, Players, and Prize Money for the 2023 tournament.

BWF Taipei Open

Taipei Open 2023

Location:Chinese Taipei
BWF Tour Level:Super 300
Draw Size:32
Prize Money:$210,000


The 2023 BWF Taipei Open badminton tournament was held from the 20th to the 25th of June 2023, with the 2023 tournament being played the week after the BWF Super 1000 tournament in Jakarta and two weeks before the Super 500 tournament in Canada.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament in Taiwan has now been released and below is a selection of players who played in the men’s and women’s singles tournaments in 2023.

Male Players

  • Kodai Naraoka
  • Chou Tien Chen
  • Prannoy H. S.
  • Kenta Nishimoto
  • Ng Ka Long Angus
  • Kanta Tsuneyama
  • Lee Cheuk Yiu
  • Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo

Female Players

  • Tai Tzu Ying
  • Busanan Ongbamrungphan
  • Beiwen Zhang
  • Wen Chi Hsu
  • Pai Yu Po
  • Supanida Katethong
  • Kim Ga Eun
  • Goh Jin Wei


Below was the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Taiwan, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 25th of June 2023.

Tuesday – Day 120 June 2023Round of 32 Matches
Wednesday – Day 221 June 2023Round of 32 Matches
Thursday – Day 322 June 2023Round 0f 16 Matches
Friday – Day 423 June 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 524 June 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 625 June 2023Finals


The draw for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Taiwan is available to view on the BWF Tour website (see links below).

Men’s Singles: View Draw

Women’s Singles: View Draw

Men’s Doubles: View Draw

Women’s Doubles: View Draw

Mixed Doubles: View Draw

Prize Money and Points

The total prize fund for the 2023 Yonex Taipei Open tournament was $210,000, with the prize money and points being in line with other BWF Super 300 tournaments like the Spain Masters (see breakdown below).

Men’s/Women’s Singles

The winners of the singles competitions in 2023 received $15,750 and 7,000 ranking points, while the runner-up received $7,980 and 5,950 ranking points.

2nd Round$7352,750
1st Round$01,670

Men’s/Women’s/Mixed Doubles (Per Pair)

The winners of the men’s/women’s/mixed doubles competitions in 2023 won $16,590 ($8,295 each) and 7,000 BWF points, while the runner-ups won $7,980 ($3,990 each) and 5,950 BWF points.

2nd Round$7882,750
1st Round$01,670

Past Winners and Runner Ups

Men’s Singles

The current men’s singles champion is Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo who defeated Su Li-yang (23-21, 21-15) in the 2023 final (see match highlights below).

Other past winners include Chen Long (2015), Lin Dan (2014), and Lee Zii Jia (2018).

2023Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo
2022Chou Tien-chen
2019Chou Tien-chen
2018Lee Zii Jia
2016Chou Tien-chen
2015Chen Long
2014Lin Dan
2013Son Wan-ho
2012Nguyễn Tiến Minh
2011Tommy Sugiarto
2010Simon Santoso
2009Nguyễn Tiến Minh
2008Simon Santoso
2007Sony Dwi Kuncoro
2006Lin Dan
2005Lee Hyun-il
2004Lee Chong Wei
2003Wong Choong Hann
2002Taufik Hidayat
2000Peter Gade
1999Fung Permadi
1997Peter Gade
1996Dong Jiong
1995Hermawan Susanto
1994Hariyanto Arbi
1993Hariyanto Arbi
1992Ardy Wiranata
1991Hermawan Susanto
1990Eddy Kurniawan
1989Morten Frost
1988Icuk Sugiarto
1987Misbun Sidek
1986Sze Yu
1985Lius Pongoh
1984Morten Frost
1983Icuk Sugiarto
1981Kevin Jolly
1980Flemming Delfs

Women’s Singles

The current women’s singles champion is Tai Tzu-ying who defeated Beiwen Zhang (21-14, 21-17) in the 2023 final.

2023Tai Tzu-ying
2022Tai Tzu-ying
2019Sung Ji-hyun
2018Tai Tzu-ying
2017Saena Kawakami
2016Tai Tzu-ying
2015Wang Yihan
2014Sung Ji-hyun
2013Sung Ji-hyun
2012Tai Tzu-ying
2011Sung Ji-hyun
2010Cheng Shao-chieh
2009Cheng Shao-chieh
2008Saina Nehwal
2007Wang Chen
2006Zhang Ning
2005Tracey Hallam
2004Chie Umezu
2003Mia Audina
2002Wang Chen
2000Mia Audina
1999Dai Yun
1997Camilla Martin
1996Susi Susanti
1995Lim Xiaoqing
1994Susi Susanti
1993Lim Xiaoqing
1992Yuliani Santosa
1991Susi Susanti
1990Chun Sung-suk
1989Christine Magnusson
1988Kirsten Larsen
1987Kirsten Larsen
1986Kirsten Larsen
1985Helen Troke
1984Ivana Lie
1983Kirsten Larsen
1982Ivana Lie
1981Hwang Sun-ai
1980Lene Køppen

For a full list of results from the 2023 tournament (including the men’s/women’s doubles, and mixed doubles events), check out the official BWF website.