Spain Masters Badminton

The Spain Masters is a BWF Super 300 badminton tournament that has been played in Madrid, Spain since 2018.

I have put together the below guide so you can find out more about the Draw, Schedule, Players, and Prize Money for the 2023 tournament in Madrid.

Spain Masters

2023 Spain Masters

Location:Madrid, Spain
BWF Tour Level:Super 300
Draw Size:32
Prize Money:$210,000


The 2023 Spain Masters badminton tournament in Madrid was held from the 28th of March to the 2nd of April 2023.

The 2023 tournament was played the week after the Swiss Open in Basel, Switzerland.


The entry list for the 2023 tournament in Madrid has now been released and below is a selection of players who played in the men’s and women’s tournaments in 2023.

Male Players

  • Kenta Nishimoto
  • Kanta Tsuneyama
  • Anders Antonsen
  • Srikanth Kidambi
  • Rasmus Gemke
  • Wang Tzu-wei
  • Toma Junior Popov

Female Players

  • Carolina Marín
  • P. V. Sindhu
  • Gregoria Mariska Tunjung
  • Michelle Li
  • Hsu Wen-chi
  • Beiwen Zhang


Below was the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Madrid, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 2nd of April 2023.

Tuesday – Day 128 March 2023Round of 32 Matches
Wednesday – Day 229 March 2023Round of 32 Matches
Thursday – Day 330 March 2023Round 0f 16 Matches
Friday – Day 431 March 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 51 April 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 62 April 2023Finals


The draw for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Madrid is available to view on the BWF Tour website (see links below).

Men’s Singles: View Draw

Women’s Singles: View Draw

Men’s Doubles: View Draw

Women’s Doubles: View Draw

Mixed Doubles: View Draw

Prize Money and Points

The total prize fund for the 2023 Spain Masters tournament was $210,000, with the prize money and points being in line with other BWF Super 300 tournaments like the German Open (see breakdown below).

Men’s/Women’s Singles

The winners of the singles competitions in 2023 received $15,750 and 7,000 BWF points, while the runner-up received $7,980 and 5,950 BWF points.

2nd Round$7352,750
1st Round$01,670

Men’s/Women’s/Mixed Doubles (Per Pair)

The winners of the men’s/women’s/mixed doubles competitions in 2023 won $16,590 ($8,295 each) and 7,000 ranking points, while the runner-ups won $7,980 ($3,990 each) and 5,950 ranking points.

2nd Round$7882,750
1st Round$01,670

Past Winners and Runner Ups

Men’s Singles

The current men’s singles champion is Kenta Nishimoto who beat Kanta Tsuneyama (15-21, 21-18, 21-19) in the 2023 final (see match highlights below).

Other past winners include Viktor Axelsen (2019 and 2020) and Rasmus Gemke (2018).

  • 2023 – Kenta Nishimoto
  • 2022 – Tournament Canceled
  • 2021 – Toma Junior Popov
  • 2020 – Viktor Axelsen
  • 2019 – Viktor Axelsen
  • 2018 – Rasmus Gemke

Women’s Singles

The current women’s singles champion is Gregoria Mariska Tunjung who beat P. V. Sindhu (21-8, 21-8) in the 2023 final.

  • 2023 – Gregoria Mariska Tunjung
  • 2022 – Tournament Canceled
  • 2021 – Putri Kusuma Wardani
  • 2020- Pornpawee Chochuwong
  • 2019 – Mia Blichfeldt
  • 2017 – Minatsu Mitani