Arctic Open

The Arctic Open is a BWF 500 badminton tournament that will be played at the Energia Arena in Vantaa, Finland.

The tournament was previously called the Finnish Open and Finish International before being renamed the Arctic Open (“Clash of Clans”) in 2023.

Flag of Finland next to the word Arctic Open

Arctic Open Badminton 2023

Location:Vantaa, Finland
Dates:10 – 15 October 2023
BWF Tour Level:Super 500
Draw Sizes:32
Prize Money:$420,000


The 2023 Arctic Open Badminton tournament in Finland will be held from the 10th to the 15th of October 2023, with the tournament being played the week before the Denmark Open badminton tournament (17-22 October 2023).


The entry list for the 2023 tournament in Finland has not yet been released but below is a selection of players who participated in the 2019 singles competitions.

2019 Male Players

  • Kunlavut Vitidsarn
  • Chun-Yi Lin
  • Sourabh Verma
  • Yu Hsien Lin
  • Sergey Sirant
  • Rasmus Messerschmidt
  • Eetu Heino
  • Luís Enrique Peñalver

2019 Female Players

  • Julie Dawall Jakobsen
  • Porntip Buranaprasertsuk
  • Choirunnisa Choirunnisa
  • Neslihan Yigit
  • Crystal Pan
  • Aliye Demirbag
  • Ashmita Chaliha
  • Kristin Kuuba


Below is the expected schedule for the 2023 tournament in Finland, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 15th of October 2023.

Tuesday – Day 110 October 2023Round of 32 Matches
Wednesday – Day 211 October 2023Round of 32 Matches
Thursday – Day 312 October 2023Round of 16 Matches
Friday – Day 413 October 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 514 October 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 615 October 2023Finals


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Finland will be available to view on the BWF Tournament Software website closer to the start of the tournament.

Men’s Singles Draw: TBD

Women’s Singles Draw: TBD

Men’s Doubles Draw: TBD

Women’s Doubles Draw: TBD

Mixed Doubles Draw: TBD

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total prize fund for the 2023 Arctic Open will be $420,000, with the prize money and points being split as follows.

Women’s and Men’s Singles

The winners of the women’s and men’s singles tournament in 2023 will receive $31,500 and 9,200 BWF points, while the runner-up will win $15,960 and 7,800 BWF points.

2nd Round$1,4703,600
1st Round$02,220

Women’s, Men’s, and Mixed Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the women’s, men’s, and mixed doubles tournaments in 2023 will receive $33,180 ($16,590 each) and 9,200 ranking points, while the runners-up will win $15,960 ($7,980 each) and 7,800 ranking points.

2nd Round$1,5753,600
1st Round$02,220

2019 Winners and Runners Up

Men’s Singles

The winner of the 2019 men’s singles competition was Kunlavut Vitidsarn who defeated Kunlavut Vitidsarn 21-16, 18-21, 21-14 in the 2019 final.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the 2019 women’s singles competition was Julie Dawall Jakobsen who defeated Porntip Buranaprasertsuk 21-18, 23-21 in the 2019 final.

For a full list of results from the 2023 tournament (including men’s/women’s doubles, and mixed doubles), check out the official BWF website.